The Rhythm Of The Dance phenomenon returns to the North West in July as part of its latest tour.

This stunning Irish spectacular that is Rhythm of the Dance is coming to the North West inJuly.

This is a fully live show that celebrates Irish culture through music and dance, featuring world champion dancers, a traditional Irish band, singers, a most gifted cast who have been wowing audiences all over the world since 1999. 

This two hour dance and music extravaganza contains a wealth of Irish talent. The show is an inspiring epic, reliving the historical journey the Irish Celts took. Using modern artforms, this richly costumed show wonderfully marries the modern with the ancient. Combining the music and dance with the most up-to-date stage technology, this thousand-year-old story is as up to date as ever. Heralding a new era in Irish entertainment and rercognised as one of thebest and most popular Irish Step shows worldwide, Rhythm Of The Dance features a live band, three tenors and twenty-teo dancers!

Tour dates and venues include...

4 July - The Brindley, RUNCORN
7 July - The Plaza, STOCKPORT
11 July - The Lyceum, CREWE
13 July - Grand Theatre, LANCASTER.

More information can be found by visiting their website www.rhythmofthedance.com

US Comedian Rich Hall invites you to his hoedown in Middleton, North Manchester on the 9 June. Here he talks to James Rampton

To emphasise just how much they are into his new show, “Rich Hall’s Hoedown”, the American comedian’s many fans are turning up at venues dressed in a full cowboy hat and cowboy boot ensemble. They are truly entering into Rich’s Wild West spirit. Yee haw!

This electrifying show, which culminates in an infectious celebration of Americana and a hilarious, foot-stomping hoedown, has already really caught fire up and down the country. And the great news is that “Rich Hall’s Hoedown” is coming to a venue near you very soon.

The brilliant stand-up is continuing his extensive nationwide tour throughout 2018. You are advised to book tickets as quickly as possible because they are already flying off the shelves.

Chatting to us during a hiatus in the tour, Rich proves a richly entertaining interviewee. He is fiercely intelligent and possesses a razor-sharp wit. It is a joy to spend time with him.

Even though he is widely loved by British audiences, the modest Rich can scarcely believe how well this tour has gone. “The response has been astounding,” reveals the comic, who was also enjoyed huge acclaim and won the Perrier Award at the 2000 Edinburgh Festival as his bourbon-soaked, country and western-singing Tennessean alter ego, Otis Lee Crenshaw

“I’m enjoying doing this particular show so much. The reaction has been very rousing. People come up to me afterwards and say, ‘I’d seen you on TV, but I didn’t realise you were this funny’. That’s the most satisfying response. At the risk of turning into the Willie Nelson of comedy, I don’t want to stop doing this show!” 

The critics have been equally enthusiastic about “Rich Hall’s Hoedown”. The Guardian called it, “Blissfully funny,” while The Scotsman declares that it is, “As close as it gets to a guaranteed good show.”

Rich has had an enormously successful TV career, shining in such comedy shows as QI, Have I Got News For You, Live at the Apollo and Never Mind the Buzzcocks, as well as producing such lauded documentaries as Rich Hall’s Countrier Than You, Rich Hall’s Presidential Grudge Match, Rich Hall’s Cattle Drive, Rich Hall’s Gone Fishing and Otis Lee Crenshaw – London Not Tennessee. Rich’s newest documentary is due for release in the coming months.

For all that, stand-up remains his first love. Rich, whose latest audio CD, Working Dog, is currently available to buy or download from store.offthekerb.co.uk, affirms that, “I just love the live experience. On stage, you get much longer than you do on TV to do a completely thorough performance piece.

“On shows like QI or Have I Got News For You, you’re just part the process, and next week someone else will be on. You try and keep your head above water on those programmes, but after they are finished, viewers just wonder what’s on next. A panel show is a commodity, and people have forgotten it half an hour later.”

However, Rich carries on, “If you have gone out of your way to go to a live show and spent two and a half hours in the theatre, chances are you’ll be talking about it on the way home.

“It’s no different from going to live music. Watching a musician live is a completely different experience from listening to his song on the radio. You have more of an artistic and emotional investment in the live performance. That’s what I love about it.”

The comedian, who has also made Rich Hall’s (US Election) Breakdown for BBC Radio Four, has no time for those comics who think that TV takes precedence over everything else. 

According to Rich, “A lot of comedians can’t wait to get off the road, leave behind the crappy dressing rooms and the long drives and get back to the TV studio. But in the TV studio you just aren’t in control in the same way. People like Jerry Seinfeld and Chris Rock always want to get back to stand-up. They still want to be out there on the road, where you can be a one-man performer, director, writer, producer and editor.

“It sometimes sounds like a crime to go on the road all the time. But for me it’s the proof of the pudding. You hone your show every night. The great thing is, people who come out to see you enjoy the show, and then they come back. They trust you that the show is going to be good when they come to see you again. That’s really gratifying.”

So what can audiences expect from “Rich Hall’s Hoedown”? The first half of the show is an examination of the catastrophe President Trump is wreaking on the world on a daily basis. The comedian jokes that, “I love the fact that Trump is President. It’s great for comedy, even though it’s dreadful for the rest of the world and humankind!

“But people expect me to talk about it. You can’t avoid talking about Trump because he infiltrates every part of our world like a weevil. He’s like an egg sac which has bored into every aspect of our lives.”

Rich says he has to be fleet of foot when tackling the subject of Trump. “My material keeps changing because the guy changes every day on a whim. No Trump joke has any shelf life at all. It’s good for three hours – then it’s out the window. Jokes about the wall, for instance, are so last year. But at least it keeps you on your toes.”

The second half of “Rich Hall’s Hoedown” is a riotous tribute to the delights of Americana. With his excellent band, the comedian performs 10 to 12 songs, many of which he improvises, using material he has gleaned from the audience in the first half. 

Rich laughs that, “The people in the front row realise that they will be targets, but they will also be serenaded. I like to find a couple who have been married for a long time and write a song about how they first met.

“You have to keep your mind open to improvise. The best moments come when the audience say to themselves, ‘I didn’t see that coming.’ You paint yourself into such a corner that the audience think, ‘How is he ever going to get out of that?’ And then you escape. It’s a real challenge, but that’s what makes it funny.”

The comedian admits that, “Sometimes I stumble, but that can be funnier than when you nail it. It’s very disposable material. It’s funny in the moment, but you can’t do it tomorrow.”

What makes Rich’s music so compelling is that he performs traditional, American country and western songs with a distinctly British tinge. He discloses that, “I can write a song about any car now. It’s much better if it’s a terrible car. It’s funny to romanticise in a Springsteen-esque way a rubbish car that doesn’t deserve it.” 

One of Rich’s most memorable songs is called “Eritrean Trucking Buddy”. “It’s about the habits of British truck drivers. In America, a song about truck driving would be very romantic and all about women in halter tops hitchhiking.

“But in Britain, it’s far less romantic. The drivers have to get out and look underneath their truck for human cargo. This song is about a British driver who finds a refugee from Eritrea under his truck and gives him a lift. It works quite well – unless you’re from Croydon. It doesn’t show Croydon in a good light!”

So, as you can see, “Rich Hall’s Hoedown” is a dazzling night out, the most fun you’ll ever have with your cowboy boots on. It is only fair to point out, though, that one thing has disappointed the stand-up about his audiences for the hoedown. “No one is bringing any farm implements of any type. I’m very disappointed. Hoes are welcome.”

Rich closes by underlining the importance of word-of-mouth in bringing audiences to his show. “When people really enjoy it, they tell their friends about it. Word-of-mouth is still the greatest. You can advertise on Facebook all you want, but in the end it’s down to the fact that a good live show is a good live show. I’m not about to give this up any time soon.”

I’m sure I’m not the only one who is extremely glad to hear that.

Tickets for “Rich Hall’s Hoedown” are available at www.offthekerb.co.uk

Cast and team announced for revival of Lloyd-Webber's Aspects Of Love

EXCITING CAST AND CREATIVE TEAM ANNOUNCED FOR INTIMATE REVIVAL OF

THE CLASSIC MUSICAL

ASPECTS OF LOVE

 AT HOPE MILL THEATRE IN MANCHESTER

BASED ON THE NOVEL BY DAVID GARNETT,

WITH MUSIC BY ANDREW LLOYD WEBBER

& LYRICS BY DON BLACK AND CHARLES HART

THURSDAY 5 JULY - THURSDAY 9 AUGUST 2018

An exciting cast and creative team has been announced for the hotly-anticipated, intimate revival of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s romantic classic Aspects of Love, which opens at Hope Mill Theatre in Manchester in July.

From Olivier Award nominees and West End regulars to young talent making their professional debuts – a company of 10 will be bringing Andrew Lloyd Webber’s much-admired musical to life under the direction of Hope Mill Theatre favourite Jonathan O’Boyle.

The production runs from Thursday 5 July to Thursday 9 August and is the third of five in-house musicals in 2018 from the successful and ambitious collaboration between Joseph Houston and William Whelton, co-founders of Hope Mill Theatre and producer Katy Lipson, from Aria Entertainment, resident producer and co-Artistic director of Hope Mill theatreand follows the hit revival of Spring Awakening, which played to standing ovations earlier this year.

Aspects of Love is based on the novel by David Garnett, with music by Andrew Lloyd Webber, lyrics by Don Black and Charles Hart and is directed by Jonathan O’Boyle (Hair, Pippin), and features the iconic song Love Changes Everything, which became a huge hit for Michael Ball, who starred in the original production in London and on Broadway.

It tells the story of passion, love and loss across three generations of a family and their artistic companions, against a background of 1940’s France and Italy.

Aspects of Love was first produced at the Prince of Wales Theatre in London on 17th April 1989, where it ran for 1,325 performances before finally closing in June 1992. Since then it has toured the UK and recent productions include the Menier Chocolate Factory (2010 and more recently in Holland (2013).

It has never been professionally produced regionally in the North West making the premiere of this production a landmark theatrical event in the region, and beyond, this summer.

A hugely exciting company of 10 performers has now been announced for Aspects of Love.

Making up the cast is Kimberly Blake (Half a Sixpence, Barnum) who plays Giulietta, Jason Kajdi (Our HouseAssassins), in the role of Hugo, Felix Mosse (The Rocky Horror Show) as Alex, Julia J Nagle (An American in Paris) as Elizabeth/ensemble, Minal Patel (The Secret Garden, Bend it Like Beckham) as Marcel, Jerome Pradon (Jesus Christ Superstar, Pacific Overtures – Olivier Award Nominee 2003) as George and Kelly Price (That Day We Sang, A Little Night Music – Olivier Award Nominee 2010) in the role of Rose. Making their professional debuts in the production are Rosie Cava-Beale, ensemble, Jack Churms, as Jerome/ensemble and Eleanor Walsh as Jenny/ensemble.

Director Jonathan O’Boyle’s recent credits include Pippin (Hope Mill Theatre/ Southwark Playhouse), London, Hair (Hope Mill Theatre/The Vaults, London) and Resident Director of An American in Paris (Dominion Theatre, London)

The production has musical direction by Gareth Bretherton, set and costume design by Jason Denvir, choreography by Sam Spencer-Lane, Lighting design by Aaron J Dootson, sound design by Calum Robinson and casting by Jane Deitch.

Aspects of Love is produced by Katy Lipson of Aria Entertainment, William Whelton and Joseph Houston of Hope Mill Theatre. And co-produced with Neil Eckersley and Jim Kierstead.

Following Aspects of Love at Hope Mill Theatre is The Return of the Soldier that runs from Thursday 6 to Saturday 29 September and A Christmas Story The Musical that runs fromFriday 26 October to Saturday 1 December.

 LISTING INFORMATION

Aspects of Love

Thursday 5 July – Thursday 9 August
Hope Mill Theatre
Hope Mill, Ancoats, 113 Pollard Street
Manchester, M4 7JA

Tickets from £16. Visit www.hopemilltheatre.co.uk

WEBSITE: www.hopemilltheatre.co.uk
FACEBOOK: Hope Mill Theatre
TWITTER: @Hopemilltheatr1 @AspectsOf_Love

Want to be in a Motown Musical tour? - Here's your chance!

THE PRODUCERS OF

“MOTOWN THE MUSICAL”

TO HOLD OPEN AUDITIONS

FOR THE FORTHCOMING

UK AND IRELAND TOUR

 

 

This autumn, Motown the Musical will embark on its first ever UK and Ireland Tour whilst the show continues to play at Shaftesbury Theatre in London’s West End.

 

The producers announced today that they will be holding open auditions for talented child and adult performers to play iconic Motown artists in the touring production.

 

The open auditions will take place on Saturday 16 June on stage at Manchester Opera House.

 

The producers are looking for black and mixed-race boys, aged between 8-13 with unbroken voices and under 4’11” to play Little Michael Jackson, Little Stevie Wonder and Little Berry Gordy. Children auditionees will be taught a short dance routine and the song I Want You Back. Please bring trainers, comfortable clothes to dance in and plenty of water. The children’s auditions will be from 10.00am-1.00pm with registration from 9.00am to10.00am.

 

In addition, producers are also looking for black and mixed-race male and female performers aged over 18 to portray the iconic stars of the Motown era. They must have fantastic singing voices with dance/movement and acting skills. Auditionees need to prepare two Motown songs with the sheet music (no backing tracks) and will need to bring a CV and recent photograph/headshot. The adult auditions will be from 2.00pm to 5.00pm with registration from 1.00pm to 2.00pm.

 

Charles Randolph-Wright, Director of the show said: “Not only will you get to play Michael Jackson, you will also step into the shoes of young Berry Gordy and Stevie Wonder.  We are looking for boys who have excellent singing and acting skills and of course, you must also be able to move like Michael!”.

 

Natalie Gallacher at Pippa Ailion Casting, Casting Director of Motown the Musical said “Since we opened the show in London we have had the pleasure of working with some great children. We are now looking for the next group of boys from across the UK to join us in our brand-new tour to play one of the most iconic roles in the music industry, Michael Jackson.  If you are male, black or mixed race, aged 8 to 13 years old, then we would love to see you at our open auditionsWe are also always excited to find brand new undiscovered talent for our adult company. If you’re black or mixed race, aged over 18 and have a passion for singing and performing we’d love to see you”.

 

The tour opens at the Birmingham Alexandra Theatre on 11 October 2018 and will play in venues across the country until late 2019. Full tour details below with more venues soon to be announced.

 

The London production of Motown the Musical continues to play to standing ovations at the Shaftesbury Theatre where it has entered its third year and is currently booking until 5 January 2019.   

 

With music and lyrics from the Motown catalogue and book by Motown founder Berry GordyCharles Randolph-Wright’s production features a live orchestra playing 50 Motown tracks including Ain’t No Mountain High Enough, I’ll Be There, Dancing In The Street, Stop! In The Name Of Love, My Girl and I Heard It through the Grapevine and tells the story behind the classic hits.

 

With just $800 borrowed from his family, Motown founder Berry Gordy, goes from featherweight boxer to heavyweight music mogul, discovering and launching the careers of Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson, Marvin Gaye and many more.  Motown the Musical uncovers the true story of the legendary record label that changed music history and created the soundtrack of a generation.  

 

Tony nominated Motown the Musical received its world premiere in April 2013 in New York and recouped its $18 million investment by the end of 2014.  The first US National Tour opened to critical acclaim in Spring 2014 in Chicago, grossing $20 million dollars during its standing room only sixteen-week run, and continues to play to packed houses across America.

 

Motown the Musical has music supervision, orchestrations and arrangements by Ethan Popp, co-orchestrations and additional arrangements by Bryan Crook and dance arrangements by Zane Mark.  Choreography is by Patricia Wilcox and Warren Adams, scenic design by David Korins, costumes by Emilio Sosa, lighting by Natasha Katz, sound by Peter Hylenski and video by Daniel Brodie.  UK Associate Director is Tara Wilkinson, UK, London Conductor & Associate Music Supervisor isGareth Weedon, UK Associate Set Designer is Andrew Edwards and UK Associate Lighting Designer is Alistair Grant and UK Sound Associate is Chris Full.  Motown the Musical is produced in the West End by Kevin McCollumDoug MorrisBerry Gordy and Adam Spiegel.

 

The original Broadway cast recording of Motown the Musical is available via Motown Records, a label of UMG Recordings - www.classicmotown.com.

 

Information on the tour and West End production can be found on the Motown website - https://motownthemusical.co.uk/tour/.

The Lowry on the Lookout for Young Dance Talent in the North West

The Lowry has announced important dates for the diaries of the dancers of the future, with a series of free open days which will be running in May and June.
 
The open days, held at The Lowry and other North West venues, will prepare young people to audition for an exciting training opportunity for 11-16 year olds  – The Lowry Centre for Advanced Training in Dance (CAT). Attendees will take part in a practical workshop led by a professional dance artist, followed by a creative session and Q&A about the dance opportunities across the region.
 
The CAT is open to young dancers aged between 11 and 16 who are committed to pursuing a career in dance.  The training programme has a highly successful track record, with graduates progressing to study dance at major UK conservatories including: Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance, The London school of Contemporary dance, Central School of Ballet, and the Northern School of Contemporary Dance.
 
The CAT is part of a national programme funded by the Department of Education and offers intensive pre-vocational training for young people who wish to pursue a career in dance.
 
As part of this funding a number of grants are available, allowing the widest possible access across the North West region.
                                     
Sally Wyatt, Centre for Advanced Training Manager said, “We are looking for young people who demonstrate exceptional commitment and enthusiasm for dance.  We are holding auditions for places on The Lowry CAT course for September 2018 and we will be looking closely at the potential of each student regardless of their previous dance experience.”
 
Open days are scheduled at various venues across the region in Greater Manchester, Cheshire and Cumbria. The events are free to attend but places are limited and must be booked in advance – the organisers recommend booking early to avoid disappointment.
 
Puté Chomchan, a current student on the CAT scheme said, “CAT offers amazing opportunities to work alongside professional companies when they come to The Lowry. I remember studying Alvin Ailey Dance Company in high school and the next thing I knew I was having a workshop with one of the company dancers! Thanks to the training I’ve received at the CAT, I have successfully gained a place at Northern School of Contemporary Dance and look forward to starting a brand new chapter of my training and continuing to pursue a professional career in dance.”
 
Further information can be found on the NorthWestDance website:
http://www.northwestdance.org.uk/CAT  
 
Places for most open days can be booked through The Lowry Box Office:
0843 208 6000. All dates listed below. For more information visit:https://www.thelowry.com/events/northwest-dance-open-days2
 
About The Lowry CAT
 
The Lowry Centre for Advanced Training Scheme is a part time, pre-vocational course, providing access to high quality training and nurturing in dance to young people who have a passion for the art form and who wish to progress toward full time training.
The scheme is funded by the Department of Education through the recognised Music and Dance Scheme, and offers intensive training opportunities with professional dance teachers, choreographers and practitioners.
 

Liverpool's Epstein Theatre Hosts World Premiere Of New Comedy 'Lennon's Banjo'.

John Lennon with his mother, Julia

The four-week countdown is now on until audiences in Liverpool can experience a brand new stage comedy telling the fascinating story of John Lennon’s missing childhood banjo.

An intriguing mix of fact and fiction, Lennon’s Banjo is set in present day Liverpool and features an all-star cast.

It makes its world stage premiere at the city’s Epstein Theatre on Tuesday 24 Aprilcontinuing through until Saturday 5 May. Tickets are already selling fast!

The Beatles original drummer Pete Best, will play himself in three special performances of the show’s two-week run.

Pete joins an exciting all-start cast featuring a whole host of familiar faces – Eric Potts, Mark Moraghan, Jake Abraham, Lynn Francis, Danny O’BrienStephanie Dooley, Alan Stocks, and Roy Carruthers.Pete Best will appear as himself, with Alan Stocks portraying Pete Best in all other performances.

The quest is on to find the holy grail of pop memorabilia – the missing banjo on which John Lennon was first taught to play music by his mother Julia Lennon, who first introduced the youngster to rock and roll.

Mysteriously, the banjo went missing shortly after Julia’s death. One thing is certain though, if it did resurface it is estimated to be worth in the region of five million pounds.

When Beatles tour guide Barry Seddon (Eric Potts) finds a letter written by John Lennon, he unearths a clue to solving the greatest mystery in pop history – the whereabouts of Lennon’s first musical instrument which has been missing for 60 years. But Barry’s loose tongue alerts Texan dealer Travis Lawson (Danny O’Brien) to the priceless relic.

In an attempt to get his hands on the letter and the clues, he persuades his wife Cheryl (Stephanie Dooley) to befriend the hapless tour guide and win his affections. The race to find Lennon’s Banjo is on!

Co-producer Bill Elms said: “Rob Fennah has created a wonderful comedy play which has a big heart, some great characters and all based around this factual and fascinating storyline. It’s so true to life that the audience will leave the theatre secretly wanting to solve the mystery for themselves. It's The Beatles meet the Da Vinci Code, an hilarious treasure hunt romp through Beatledom."

Julia Baird is John Lennon’s half sister – and vividly remembers watching their mother teach John how to play. Julia fully supports the new play.

Julia takes up the story: “The banjo was my grandfather’s and he brought it back from sea, possibly from America, and he could play it really well. He taught my mother how to play it, and then my mother taught John how to play it – she was extremely artistically talented. John inherited it, definitely. The banjo was the first stringed instrument John played.”

Lennon’s Banjo is based on the 2012 novel Julia’s Banjo written by Rob Fennah and Helen A Jones. The play is produced by Rob Fennah and Pulse Records Ltd in association with Bill Elms and directed by Mark Heller.

The race to find the holy grail of pop memorabilia is on!

The Salvation Army’s Strawberry Field project is the official charity partner of Lennon’s Banjo.

Lennon’s Banjo’s are delighted to be working with its Fab Four Production Partners who are The Cavern Club Liverpool, The Beatles Story, Hard Days Night Hotel, and The Beatles Shop.

 

Watch the promo video here  https://youtu.be/ddpVnRStAmo   

For more info visit www.lennonsbanjo.com 

The Lowry become the first arts venue to launch an interactive video tour with iRoam for visitors with social anxieties

The Lowry and Access Social have today launched an interactive video tour of the Salford based arts venue. In doing so The Lowry has become the first arts venue to use iRoam.

Access Social has been working in partnership with The Lowry to create a video that supports people who may need to prepare for their visit to the venue. Although Access Social work primarily with and for people living with Autism, Dementia and other social anxiety disabilities the video is intended for use by all those who wish to visit and would benefit from familiarising themselves beforehand. 

Rachel Miller, marketing director at The Lowry, said: “It’s wonderful to see our work with the team at Access Social come to fruition. The addition of an interactive video tour to our website will help so many of our visitors feel welcomed into the building before they step foot out of their own home. It’s great that we can add the interactive video tour to the range of facilities already in place and we look forward to continuing our work with Access Social and enhancing our visitors experience.”

Anthony Curran, director at Access Social Ltd added "It's been a pleasure work with the team at The Lowry to develop a product that will assist their visitors and it's great to see accessibility, especially for people with hidden requirements, high on the agenda."

The Lowry welcomes all visitors regardless of their disability and strives to meet all individuals’ needs where possible. The venue has been awarded a Silver award from ‘Attitude is Everything’ for its dedication to enable access to the venue. 
 

Katie Leicester chats with comedian Tez Ilyas prior to his UK stand-up tour, Teztify

Having spent a lot of the last year dealing with the ignorance of the aftermath of major terrorist attacks and the resurgence of the far right, Tez Ilyas is ‘teztifying’ against all the assumptions the world has of him. Muslim, a Northerner, a working-class man of faith – all labels he owns, but what does he really think of them? No matter the answer, you know he’ll do it with his trademark cheek and satirical wit.

After his debut Edinburgh show, TEZ Talks transferred to BBC Radio 4 for a full series and Tez’s career has just kept going up! Tez has just finished recording the second series of his radio show 'Tez Talks' which airs in February this year. In addition, his first ever national tour, earlier last year, was a resounding success.

Further, Tez has made guest appearances on shows such as 'Mock The Week', 'The Last Leg', 'Unspun With Matt Forde' and 'The Now Show'.

As a comedian I can imagine that many interviewees have asked Tez all about his style of his comedy and how as a Muslim man he incorporates what is important to him into his acts, his career so far and how he decided on a path of stand-up comedy and very many questions in similar vein.

With many previous documented interviews and information out there in the cyber world about Tez, I wanted something different; I was intrigued to find out about the man behind the comedy, the real Tez as a person without the mask of show business and comedy.

Whilst speaking with Tez it was clear that here was a confident and intelligent man who had found his feet in the world of stand-up comedy and could think on his feet with the questions I asked.

What are you known for?

Stand-up comedy meaning I stand up and I deliver comedy on stage.

What can audiences expect from you?

Smart and subversive comedy by holding up a mirror to society in 2018

What inspires you?

Lots of things I like making people laugh and I like the feedback I get from other comedians, I love comedy and find inspiration from other comedians like Peter Kay, John Bishop and many other UK comedians also those across the waters like Eddie Murphy and Dave Chappell - The mix of humour and inspirational comedians inspires me.

What’s the most interesting thing about you that we couldn’t learn from your resume alone?

I worked on the London Olympics for 3 years in 2010-2013 and it was good we had a good team of us.

How would you describe your job to a child?

I make people laugh for money, I have nieces and nephews and that’s what I tell them.

What were you like in High School?

I was the class clown a cheeky monkey always getting in to trouble and on report. I never fought with my fists though it was always my mouth that got me in trouble.

Describe your life using a film title?

The Matrix I would choose that because you only see what’s on the surface but there is lots more happening underneath that people don’t see.

What song best describes you?

Ice Cube – It was a good day (today was a good day)

I would chose that because the lyrics display no matter how hard life is you can have a good day, it’s the positivity I like as I am a half full glass person not half empty.

Where would you go in a time machine?

I would travel a 100 years from now into the future to see what has happened to our world and see what we had done to it.

Which superpower would you like to have?

The ability to teleport as I’m always late so I would like to be able to teleport place to place without the travelling in-between it takes otherwise then I would never be late.

What 3 items would you take to a desert island other than food and water?

A solar powered smart phone that had signal, the Koran (Quran) and a fishing rod.

It is clear there is so much more behind this Blackburn born comedian who has worked hard to get to where he is today, he’s previously been described as a political stand up who is candy floss with a razorblade inside: sweet and familiar at first, then shockingly, painful and sharp however from the conversation I had with this talented individual he is so much more than his job.

Tez’s Tour is extensive which starts 27th March in London and ends 25th May at the Well Ccomedy Festival with 18 stops in-between, including a visit to The Lowry Theatre in Salford on the 29th April.

Cameron Mackintosh's acclaimed Broadway production of Les Misérables to return to Manchester in 2019

After nearly a decade since the last UK tour sold out in only a few days, Cameron Mackintosh is delighted to announce his acclaimed Broadway production of Boublil and Schönberg’smusical LES MISÉRABLES will return to Manchester’s Palace Theatre (19 February – 30 March 2019) as part of a major UK and Ireland tour, with tickets going on sale later this year.

Cameron Mackintosh said, “Since I first conceived the new production of Les Misérables to celebrate the show’s 25th anniversary in 2009, this production has taken the world by storm - more than matching the success of the original, which can now only be seen in London.  I am thrilled that modern audiences have embraced this production as Les Mis for the 21st century and it is playing to packed houses all over the world in many languages. It also inspired the hugely successful movie version starring Hugh Jackman, Anne Hathaway and Eddie Redmayne.

This latest version comes hot from its recent Broadway triumph (now once again on a sell-out tour of North America) and is even more spectacular than the original.  I am very proud that this extraordinary Boublil and Schönberg musical remains as fresh, thrilling and exciting as ever – and people are still storming the barricades for a ticket.”

This brilliant new staging has scenery inspired by the paintings of Victor Hugo, and has been seen in North America, South America, Korea, Japan, Canada, Australia, Spain, France, Manila, Singapore, Dubai and Broadway.

Based on Victor Hugo’s classic novel, Boublil and Schönberg’s magnificent score of Les Misérables includes the songs ‘I Dreamed a Dream’, ‘On My Own’, ‘Stars’, ‘Bring Him Home’, ‘Do You Hear the People Sing?’ ‘One Day More’, ‘Empty Chairs at Empty Tables’, ‘Master Of The House’ and many more.  Seen by over 120 million people worldwide in 45 countries and in 22 languages, Les Misérables is undisputedly one of the world’s most popular musicals.

Cameron Mackintosh’s production of Les Misérables is written by Alain Boublil and Claude-Michel Schönberg and is based on the novel by Victor Hugo. It has music by Claude-Michel Schönberg, lyrics by Herbert Kretzmer and original French text by Alain Boublil and Jean-Marc Natel, additional material by James Fenton and original adaptation by Trevor Nunn and John Caird. The original Les Misérables orchestrations are by John Cameron with new orchestrations by Christopher Jahnke and additional orchestrations by Stephen Metcalfe and Stephen Brooker.

 The production is directed by Laurence Connor and James Powell, and designed by Matt Kinley inspired by the paintings of Victor Hugo with costumes by Andreane Neofitou and additional costumes by Christine Rowland, lighting by Paule Constable, sound by Mick Potter, musical staging by Michael Ashcroft and Geoffrey Garratt, projections by Fifty-Nine Productions and music supervision by Stephen Brooker and Graham Hurman.

The production will run from Tuesday 19th February 2019 - Saturday 30th March 2019

 For further information www.lesmis.com
T
ickets :  
atgtickets.com/Manchester

LS Lowry’s cousin leaves family heirlooms to The Lowry in his will

A member of LS Lowry’s extended family has left three works of art by his famous ‘uncle Laurie’ to The Lowry Collection in his will.
 
Geoffrey Shephard, who passed away in August 2016, was the grandchild of Annie Hall Shephard – a cousin of Lowry’s mother, Elizabeth.
 
The works bequeathed are: an oil painting entitled Sailing Boats 1912; an ink drawing on paper entitled Groups of Figures c1950; and a signed print ofDeal, showing the harbour in Kent.
 
Lowry gave Sailing Boars 1912 to Geoffrey’s parents, William and Nellie, as a wedding present on their marriage in 1920. As second cousins, they were close friends throughout their lives, with Lowry acting as godfather to their eldest son, Ronald, Geoffrey’s older brother.
 
Julia Fawcett OBE, chief executive of The Lowry, said: “Given their family provenance, these works are an incredibly special addition to our collection.
 
“Sailing Boats was painted when Lowry was just 25 years old – many years before the critical and widespread recognition he went on to achieve. It depicts a subject matter we know Lowry’s mother approved of - and she wasn’t always that forthcoming with her approval - so I’m sure it was highly valued as a personal wedding gift.”
 
The Lowry Collection is owned by Salford City Council and is held in trust by The Lowry arts centre at Salford Quays. The work has been added to The Lowry’s permanent exhibition (LS Lowry: The Art & The Artist) - the world's largest public collection of paintings and drawings by the famous artist.